Spousal Caregiver Research at Saint Anselm College

Home Forums Everything Caregiving Spousal Caregiver Research at Saint Anselm College

This topic contains 10 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Cynthia Cynthia 1 week, 3 days ago.

• Author

Elizabeth Gallagher
    Participant

Are you a caregiver for your spouse?

We are interested in understanding the experience of being a spousal caregiver.
    This project includes an approximately one-hour interview.
    Participants will receive a $15 Target gift card!
    Please contact us if you are interested or for more information

Elizabeth Gallagher
    Saint Anselm College
    Egallagher@anselm.edu
    339-832-1153

• #62662 Reply

TIM

My wife has Huntington Disease. I have been her full time caregiver for 6 years. We have been married 26 years, she was diagnosed in 2009.

• #62669 Reply

Rusty Short

My husband was an ER physician and a very good one. I am a nurse practitioner in private practice. In Jan2006 he suffered a hemorrhagic stroke while driving his car home from a long shift. He was in a coma for two weeks and in the hospital and rehab for almost a year. I tried multiple rehabs inpatient, outpatient…got scammed into an inpatient rehab that claimed to be stroke rehab certified, and was absolutely not. Horrible experience. Took him out of there and brought him home after several horrifying experiences including an injury. Have been his caregiver at home since 2007. I have no help. I still work fulltime. It is very, very difficult. I could not do it if I weren’t self employed. He later had a BKA, a broken hip, and I could go on and on. It has robbed me of the last ten years of my life, but we have no family that can help so it is what it is.

• #62682 Reply

Margie Atkins

I have taken care of my husband for almost 4 years as the sole caregiver 24/7. He was in a construction accident and has TBI.

• #62715 Reply

Allison