Professional caregivers

Professional caregivers introduce yourself here

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Shawn Garrison 3 months, 2 weeks ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Cori Carl
    Cori Carl
    Keymaster

Professional caregivers are so often left out of the conversation about caregiving! This is a place for you to talk about the struggles of caregiving — both emotional and practical. Welcome!

• #61562 Reply

Malissa

I am a long time caregiver for elderly and mentally ill adults and Yes we are Not paid fairly and treated like Dirt by the person we caregive for…Their Families And Our Employers.
    I am in My LAST Year of caregiving Thank God after 25 years…my child graduates from college in three months and I have done this as it is steady work with Crappy pay so I work Minimum 70 hours a week to make a Normal Paycheck. In 25 years I have had Two persons I caregived for and their families that were Decent to me and showed Appreciation for my Always being available and could count on me. ALL the rest were Uncaring Unappreciative and the Children/50 Year Old and Up “Brats” were the WORST!! Never around unless they were trying to suck up and get mom and dad to leave them Everything to cheat their sibilings out of everything they could…come in out of no where and redo everything making their parents lives Worse…Complain and Belittle you Every chance they get to make themselves feel supirior and important…they literally make me Puke. Ive Only stuck it out this long as I am a single parent and have paid for my childs college as well. I Cant Wait to kiss this Discusting Thankless Abusive Mentally and Physically and Low Paying job GOOD BYE ASAP! I dont understand people/creatures who think treating the ONLY Person who they and their jerky discusting family member can Count On to do what They Themselves Wouldnt do like trash and they think thats going to make the Overworked Overstreased caregiver want to be there or do their be