Spousal Caregivers

Dealing with a spouse’s disability.

This topic contains 14 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  JeannineDay 8 months, 2 weeks ago.

• Author

David Waterman
    Participant

I found that in spite of the being a volunteer caregiver and a carpenter to build wheel chair ramps for disabled people as well as widen doors and remodel baths etc. I really did not know all the issues that went into caring for a family member with a serious disability.
    I am now a writer having become partially disabled myself and I have been campaigning to bring care giving to the attention of the public as much as possible.
    One of the ways I did that this week was to write an article for CNNiNEWS to point out the issues family deals with when a family member is disabled.
    Here in NM Care giving is a huge issue but one where there is very little support for the care giver.
    It is very difficult to get enough resources and finances flowing to cover the many issues that we face as care givers.I was holding a full time job, dealing with multiple sometimes life threatening issues my wife was living through and we also had her daughter in the house who was not working, not contributing and stealing meds and supplies for her illegal drug habit. It became a mess that exploded this past summer resulting in even more stressful issues and I burned out.
    Hope we can lobby and campaign with lawmakers to make a difference for all of us in the future.
    http://ireport.cnn.com/docs/DOC-1220089
    David

• #11222 Reply

Veronica