Young caregivers

issues

This topic contains 12 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Calvin Howard Jr 1 year, 10 months ago.

• Author

Calvin Howard Jr
    Participant

I have been caring for my dad for 4 years, things got worse when he lost his sight in 2010 and in 2013 when he lost one of his legs. I had to sacrifice a lot to take care of my dad. From taking a semester off because the school didnt offer the online classes i need (i was a senior). Also i have develop at lot of anger towards my family and the situation. I always feel like others get away and i have to deal with taking care of my dad. As a young guy i get jealous of others my age because many of them don’t have the problems i have they can have the freedom to go wherever they want but i have to be around my dad almost all day. I have been depressed, to the point of doing harm to myself and others, i have a bunch of anger inside me because i feel like this isn’t right for me,i shouldn’t be in this situation.

• #10126 Reply

Kathe

Calvin, if you are at the point you feel you could hurt yourself or others, then you’re not helping anybody. You need to talk to someone as soon as possible to figure out the best options for yourself and your dad. If you don’t know where to start, your local hospital should be able to point you in the right direction.

I know how stressful caregiving is; I’ve done it for years. It sounds like you have a lot on your plate. I know how hard it can be to just pick up the phone, but there is help available, and you do have options. You don’t have to deal with this alone! Please don’t wait, call someone right away.

Prayers for you and your dad, please follow up and let us know how you’re doing.

• #10127 Reply

J